McLaren Victorious on USGP

June 22, 2007 at 7:46 am Leave a comment

For the second time, Lewis Hamilton has once again grabbed the first place in the recent US Grand Prix, making it his second F1 career victory. Fernando Alonso, Lewis’ teammate, was only behind by 1.5 seconds from Lewis notching the second place over-all. Certainly it was an exciting finish for the McLaren team! It was the team’s third one-two finish of the season at the historical Indiana Motor Speedway marking their third consecutive victory for team McLaren.

Let’s try to hear what the two McLaren drivers have to say after a successful campaign in the US Grand Prix at Indiana Motor Speedway. And before anything else, congratulations to Lewis and Alonso and also to the rest of team McLaren!

“It just keeps getting better and better – what an amazing week this has been. I can’t believe that I have won and am so incredibly grateful to the team who have worked to hard to continue the development which has seen us taking one-two here today. Everything went right; start, pitstops, strategy and I’m really happy,” expresses Lewis Hamilton.

“I was under pressure all the way from Fernando and we were both pushing as hard as possible. I made a good start to maintain the advantage but Fernando was right there. In the second stint Fernando managed to get really close when my tyres were graining, and he had a go at the end of the straight, but I was able to keep him behind. It’s been a long and hot day, but I have really enjoyed myself and the support from the fans,” Hamilton adds.

“I didn’t win but I finally managed to leave Indianapolis with a trophy. I think the race was decided after the first corner, and I didn’t manage to get past. All I could do was to stay as close to Lewis as possible. We were side-by-side on one occasion, but it was all fair and square and it was good racing. I was constantly in his slipstream and was getting all kind of dirt from the brakes on my overalls, the car and the helmet which was why I sometimes went slightly off line to try and get some clean air,” muses Fernando Alonso.

“The car was working well, and I’m looking forward to the rest of the season. At the end of the day the team can leave Indianapolis having extended the gap to Ferrari in the Constructors’ battle and having eight points is better than none. I’m looking forward to going back to Europe and the rest of the season,” he concludes.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Saab Cars: 5 Years of Excellency Slumping Indian Car Market Spur Cheap Cars

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


