Kovy Tops Valencia Tests

January 25, 2008 at 2:35 am Leave a comment

McLaren had a not so very good season last year.  Although they had two drivers in the top three at the end of the season, they were disqualified from the constructors’ championship and rookie sensation Lewis Hamilton failed to become the only rookie t win the championship. And then, two-time world champion Fernando Alonso left the team after only a year after he had a hard time dealing with Hamilton.

With Alonso going back to Renault, he wanted a teammate that will not be a threat to him so Kovailanen was let go by Renault and McLaren took the Finn. And now, the Finn is showing what he is all about by posting the fastest lap time during the tests in Valencia.

“It feels fantastic,” said Kovy.  “I’m really, really happy here, enjoying working with these guys. They are motivated, pushing hard. This is what I like.”

Kovailanen said that he knows that he is in Lewis Hamilton’s territory.  “I need to take it over and make it mine, don’t I. Lewis has been here 10 years already. He has a strong bond with the team. I just need to make my relationship work, to take my place. I feel already part of the family,” said the Finn.

“I don’t know what went wrong last year. I think I can bring things to this team. And I can learn a lot. I can’t see myself getting into trouble politically. It’s not my business. I’m not interested too much in that side of things. I drive the car as fast as I can and try to beat everybody. If I can’t do that I’ll work with my engineers to be stronger. I like to keep things simple.”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Renault R28 Shakedown At Valencia Barrichello Isn’t Quitting

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


